Monday, Nov 18, 2019
HomeSportsTop athletes honored by Road Runners

Top athletes honored by Road Runners

The fourth fastest youth quarter-miler in the world this year, O’Jay Ferguson, ran away with top honors at his track and field club’s annual awards banquet, on Saturday evening.

Ferguson’s ranking is based on the International Association of Athletic Association’s(IAAF)Top Performance List for youth boys in the 2010 outdoor season.

His time of 46.93 seconds placed him ahead of other athletes, in his division, at the Road Runners Track and Field’Dominique Higgins’Awards Banquet. Ferguson, along with Javon Rolle, were named the’Athletes of the Year’in the open male division. The open female’Athletes of the Year’awards were presented to Krysten Black and Sars Mackey while Maverick Bowleg won the under-17 male division. Winning the under-15 boys was Jenero Knowles and Demitri Forbes, and Lawanda Jean Louis and Faythe Miller were named top athletes in the under-15 girls. Other divisional winners were Stephen Bowe, Katraz Coakley, Ajana Strachan, Michael Adderley, Shakara Whymms, Shanterah Evans, Cephas Whylly, Alexicia Williams and Malcolm Williams.

The Most Outstanding Athlete awards were presented to Leonard Taylor, Tatyaha Huyler, Avery Adderley, Richa Haygood, Angelo Rolle, Carnesha Nixon, Aaron Smith, Felicity Dorsett, Lauietta Thurston, Recarno Nixon, Leslie Rolle and Malik Francis. They were competing in the under-7 to under-15 divisions for boys and girls. In the under-17 boys, Bennet Hall and Adorian Williams were the winners. Edvania Missick and Stephanie Stubbs won the open female division titles and the open males were Ivan Stubbs, Walter Taylor and Navante Lamm.

The annual banquet was held in honor of Higgins, who presented Abiah Missick with the overall trophy for outstanding performances in the classroom. Abiah Missick maintained a Grade Point Average(GPA)of 3.93 and was named the top sixth grader in his school. A GPA of 3.93 gave Jenero Knowles top honors in his division. Knowles is in the 10th grade at Temple Christian. He passed eight Bahamas Junior Certificate(BJC)exams, earning seven As and one B. Recognition was also given to Richa Haygood for academic success. Haygood earned a GPA of 3.98.

Head coach for the club, Dexter Bodie, congratulated all the athletes for outstanding jobs this season.

“This was a great year for the club. This is the most awards ever given out,”said Bodie.”We had an excellent showing by all of them. Some were able to make several national teams. The club is not all about running, jumping or throwing. As you can see we award academic achievements-we are really big on that. A lot of our athletes are excelling on the track and in the classroom,”he added.

Guest speakers at the event included Minister of Education Desmond Bannister, honoree Higgins, President of the Bahamas Association of Athletic Associations (BAAA) Mike Sands and long-time BAAA sponsor Basil Neymour. The Road Runners club will continue training for the 2011 season today. The club is open to athletes between the ages of four to 20.

Cable Bahamas waivin
Govt encouraging Gra