Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
HomeSportsBBF set for election of officers

BBF set for election of officers

Everything is now set in place for the Bahamas Baseball Federation’s (BBF) annual general meeting (AGM) and election of officers.

The deadline for nomination forms to be handed in was last Friday, and two names have been offered for the position of president.  Incumbent president Craig Kemp will be challenged by a coach in the Freedom Farm organization and former national team player Geron Sands.  The meeting and election of officers is scheduled for Saturday, November 19, on the ground floor of the conference room in the Ministry of Sports Building on Thompson Blvd.  The meeting will get underway at 10:30 a.m., and the election of officers will get underway at 2:00 p.m.  That will be followed by a media question-and-answer period.

Running for the vice president spots are incumbents Alonzo Pratt, from Grand Bahama, and Bertram Murray Jr., from New Providence.  Also running for the vice president spots are the president of the Grand Bahama organization Stephen Adderley, who presently holds the position of assistant treasurer in the BBF; the vice president of the Legacy baseball organization in Grand Bahama Joe Moss; Geron Sands and the director of the Freedom Farm organization William Seymour.

The only name offered for the BBF treasurer spot is coach in the Junior Baseball League of Nassau (JBLN) organization Dillon Dean, and the only named offered for the assistant treasurer position is Marsha Munnings who currently holds the position of treasurer.  The only name offered for the secretary general post is the incumbent Theodore ‘Teddy’ Sweeting, and the only name offered for the assistant secretary general post is the incumbent Jeannie Scavella.

A total of 12 leagues are eligible to vote in the upcoming elections.  They are the All Abaco Baseball League (president – George Mills), the Bimini Baseball League (president – Abigail Pritchard), the Eleuthera Baseball League (president – Larry Forbes), the Freedom Farm Baseball League (president – Greg Burrows Sr.), the Grand Bahama Little League (president – Stephen Adderley), the Grand Bahama Amateur Baseball League (president – Alonzo Pratt), the Inagua Baseball League (president – Etienne Farquharson), the JBLN (president – Julian Brown), the Legacy Baseball League (president – Gregory Christie), the Long Island Baseball League (president – Dan Weightman), the New Providence Amateur Baseball League (president – Jeff Francis), and the Spanish Wells Baseball League (president – Ross Albury).

Sports Notices
Sports ministry cont