Monday, May 25, 2020
HomeNewsOpposition senators no-show

Opposition senators no-show

Opposition senators withdrew from the Senate today and will not return until the Progressive Liberal Party  (PLP) members of Parliament are reinstated, according to a statement from the Office of the Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate.

Senators Fred Mitchell, Dr. Michael Darville, Clay Sweeting and Jobeth Coleby-Davis were noticeably absent from Senate proceedings as senators debated a bill to amend the Electrical Rate Reduction Bond Act 2015.

During Wednesday’s sitting of the House of Assembly, PLP Leader Philip Brave Davis, Exumas and Ragged Island MP Chester Cooper, and Central and South Andros MP Picewell Forbes were suspended after they walked out during a communication by House Speaker Halson Moultrie.

Their suspension came minutes after the House of Assembly voted to suspend Englerston MP Glenys Hanna-Martin for two consecutive sittings.

Davis, Forbes and Cooper were the only members who objected to Hanna-Martin’s suspension.

 The bill to amend the Electrical Rate Reduction Bond Act 2015 was passed in the Senate.

James Victor Cartwrt
University of The Ba