Monday, Jan 21, 2019
HomeLifestylesEducationEva Hilton Primary student tops the field

Eva Hilton Primary student tops the field

Remington Minnis is second New Providence government school student to win title

Remington Alexander Minnis has brought pride not only to his Eva Hilton Primary School community, but he’s also being celebrated as the pride of New Providence public schools as the first student from Eva Hilton to win the Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year title. And in the 22-year history of the award, he’s only the second New Providence public school student to have won. Tiffany Moncur, a student at Carmichael Primary, won in 1999, the third year of the program’s existence.

Minnis won a $7,000 scholarship as well as a laptop computer.

On his first day back to school after his win, Minnis, 10, said his mom, Rochelle, believes that his win had not sunk in as yet, but that he felt honored.

“On Saturday [May 19] they first called me as a regular finalist, and I was like ‘What else could I do?’ And then I ended up being first. In that moment I was really happy,” he said.

Minnis, who is also head boy at Eva Hilton, topped the field of 121 nominees. He maintains a cumulative grade point average of 3.97.

He also established a community service project “Hugs for Heart” in honor of his father, Hesham, who passed away due to heart disease. Through his project, Minnis raised money to help young children suffering from heart disease. Through his “Hugs for Heart” initiative Minnis donated $1,551 to the Sassoon Heart Foundation.

Minnis is a well-rounded student who participates in a number of school activities, inclusive of The Early Act Club, Discovery Club and the school’s volleyball team. He is captain of the math team and captain of the soccer team.

His campus activities are complemented by his participation in the 55th Nassau Scout Troop, St. Ambrose Anglican Church pastoral care team, Dynamos Youth Football Club and the Bahamas Reef Environment Educational Foundation (BREEF).

Minnis is a member of the Bahamas Mantas Swim and Water Polo Club. He was a member of the water polo team that represented The Bahamas at the South Florida International Water Polo Tournament, where they won a bronze medal. He is also a member of this year’s Carifta water polo team that won the gold medal. He was the youngest member of both teams.

Minnis sat a number of secondary school examinations and passed them all. He now has his sights set on attending either St. Andrew’s School or Lyford Cay International School as his first choice options. He says he likes what the institutions have to offer. But he has not boxed himself in, and has sat examinations for Aquinas College, St. John’s College and St. Augustine’s College and passed them all.

Jennice Johnson, Eva Hilton vice principal, said they were overjoyed at the school after Minnis’ win and were planning a celebratory motorcade to celebrate his accomplishment as well as the school’s other accomplishments.

“We’ve been in the top five… even top three, so this is a long time coming,” said Johnson. “The entire Eva Hilton community is overjoyed because we know Remington has put his all into this — for himself as well as the school. We would have campaigned with him for ‘Hugs for Heart’ and had a special assembly.

“We would like to have a motorcade sometime [this] week, as well as highlight other accomplishments of the school. School patron Eva Hilton is excited and said she would be on the motorcade. We are just awaiting the okay on a date from ministry to celebrate Minnis and the school’s other accomplishments.”

Minnis is also a student who strives for excellence in himself, but does what he can to help his peers. He says when he sees a fellow classmate struggling, he does what he can to help him or her.

With the win, Minnis becomes the 13th New Providence winner. Grand Bahamas has had four winners; Eleuthera and Abaco has had two winners, and Andros has had one winner.

Queen’s College’s Nikhil Unwala was the first runner-up. He received a $5,000 scholarship and a laptop.

Angels Academy’s Maddox Pinder was second runner-up. Freeport Bible Academy’s Quinton Levarity II was third runner-up. They both received a $4,000 scholarship and a laptop.

Windsor Preparatory School’s Kayley Simon was fourth runner-up. St. John’s College’s Kaiden Moss-Moultrie was fifth runner-up. They each received a $3,500 scholarship and a laptop.

The sixth through ninth ranked finalists — D’Nado Burrows Jr. (Sunland Baptist Academy), Zarah Rigby (Summit Academy), Meredith Knowles (Hope Town Primary School), and Rickia Johnson (Temple Christian Elementary)—each received a $3,000 scholarship. Burrows and Rigby also received a laptop.

Mikhail Bartlett (St. Anne’s School) and Kyra Courtemanche (Gregory Town Primary School) each received a $2,500 scholarship as the 10th and 11th ranked finalists.

Pablo Smith (Moss Town Primary School), Annabel Izmirlian (Lyford Cay International School), Laylah Knowles (Xavier’s Lower School), Andrew Benjamin (Genesis Academy), Leonardo Jones (Hugh W. Campbell Primary School), and Daijanae Francis (Mary, Star of the Sea Academy), Kahlia Higgs (Harbour Island All Age School), Stefano Fox (Lower Deadman’s Cay Primary), Hilliyah Thompson (St. Andrew’s Anglican School), Madison Forbes (Nassau Christian Academy), Keira Albury (Man-O-War Cay Primary School), Wintonesh Sherman-Young (Akhepran International Academy), Perez Rutherford (Kingsway Academy) and Dennis Adderley Jr. (Mastic Point Primary School), the 12th through 25th place finalists, each received a $2,000 scholarship.

A $1,500 scholarship went to 27 finalists, and 68 semifinalists each received a $1,000 scholarship.

Past winners

2017 — Hannah Edomwonyi, Clara Evans Primary School, Andros

2016 — Lila Nottage, Lyford Cay International School, New Providence

2015 — Samaya Lundy, Sunland Baptist School, Grand Bahama

2014 — Donovan Butler, Xavier’s Lower School, New Providence

2013 — Lauryn Rolle, St. Thomas More Catholic Primary School, New Providence

2012 — Nadja Simon, Genesis Academy, New Providence

2011 — Anna Albury, Hope Town Primary School, Abaco

2010 — Jared Fitzgerald, Xavier’s Lower School, New Providence

2009 — Khes Adderley, Temple Christian School, New Providence

2008 — James Boyce, Hope Town Primary School, Abaco

2007 — Taran Carey, Tarpum Bay Primary School, Eleuthera

2006 — George Zonicle, Bahamas Academy, New Providence

2005 — Shirdat Jadoo, Maurice Moore Primary School, Grand Bahama

2004 — Saul Salonga, Mary, Star of the Sea Catholic Academy, Grand Bahama

2003 — Tanielle Curtis, Sts. Francis & Joseph Catholic Primary School, New Providence

2002 — Zachary Lyons, Queen’s College, New Providence

2001 — Kenny Roberts, Spanish Wells All Age School, Eleuthera

2000 — Sasha Bain, Walter Parker Primary School, Grand Bahama

1999 — Tiffany Moncur, Carmichael Primary School, New Providence

1998 — Andrea Moultrie, St. John’s College, New Providence

1997 — Vashti Darling, St. John’s College, New Providence


Alexandria Rolle wins 6th annual Autism Awareness Essay Contest

Man killed in traffic accident on Prince Charles Drive