Wednesday, Jul 8, 2020
HomeHomeShantytown matter adjourned to June 6

Shantytown matter adjourned to June 6

A legal battle against the eviction of 177 shantytown dwellers is not ready to be heard.

Yesterday, Dawson Malone, who represents Respect Our Homes Limited, appeared before Justice Cheryl Grant-Thompson and asked to amend the statement and motion in the matter.

Malone said that he had just received affidavits from Craig Delaney and Senator Dion Foulkes on May 2.

Malone said, “The parties have agreed that the application for discovery be adjourned to a date to be fixed by the court.”

The matter has been adjourned to June 6. Kayla Greene-Smith appeared for the respondents.

The shantytown residents got a court injunction days before their homes were set to be demolished.

The applicants have filed an application for judicial review.

But they say that they need policy documents, Shantytown Action Task Force (SATF) core and operational documents, crown title documents, communication documents, decision-making documents and the building assessment report in order to move forward.

“In this case the applicants are completely in the dark as to how the policy was formulated and thus by what law the government seeks to justify its actions,” the applications said in a motion for discovery.

“The applicants therefore ask for disclosure of all documents relating to the policy, including notes, memoranda, meeting minutes, discussion papers, press releases, correspondences, consultations or other documents that relate to or evidence the formulation of the policy and its execution.”

The respondents in the matter include Prime Minister Dr. Hubert Minnis, who has responsibility for lands; Minister of Labour Dion Foulkes, who chairs the SATF; Minister of Public Works Desmond Bannister; Attorney General Carl Bethel; Bahamas Power and Light; and the Water and Sewerage Corporation.

Senior Reporter at The Nassau Guardian
Artesia primarily covers court stories, but she also writes extensively about crime.
Govt to introduce te
Hanna-Martin: Minnis