Athletes see action at 15th Diana Lynn Classic

Local track and field athletes saw action at the second track and field meet of the year as the Roadrunners Track Club hosted the 15th Diana Lynn Thompson Classic at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium on Saturday.

The meet saw two athletes, who have already qualified for the CARIFTA Track and Field Championships, once again reaching the CARIFTA qualifying standard. The Easter Weekend staple has been pushed back to July 2-4 of this year. This gives athletes even more time to qualify for one of the top junior meets in the world. However, there was a qualifier for the World Athletics Under-20 Championships, set for August 17-22 of this year. Unofficially qualifying for the under-20 championships was Bahamas Speed Dynamics’ Antoine Andrews. The 18-year-old did that feat in the under-20 boys 110 meters (m) hurdles when he powered his way to clock 14.01 seconds to win that event. The standard is 14.15 seconds. Finishing behind him was Redline Athletics’ Otto Laing with a time of 14.70m. Third place saw Quick Step Athletics’ Alton Roker posting 14.93 seconds.

Blue Chip Athletics’ Carnitra Mackey went ahead and extended her already CARIFTA qualifying distance in the under-20 girls javelin throw. She posted 40.24m (132’) to win that event. She previously unofficially qualified back in December 2020. Her only competitor was R.C. Athletics’ Davanna Collie who recorded 38.33m (125’ 9”).

In the under-20 men’s discus it was Tarajh Hudson from Blue Chip Athletics who unofficially requalified for CARIFTA when he threw the discus for 52.52m (172’ 4”). His teammate, Keyshawn Strachan, who is known for the javelin throw, finished second with a distance of 40.10m (131’ 7”). Third place was won by the unattached Philip Moss Jr. as he posted 40.10m (120’ 9”).

The under-20 boys 400m dash saw the top three finishers running sub-50 seconds. Winning that race was Power Athletics’ Wendell Miller, who went sub-48 seconds when he clocked 47.89 seconds. Second place was secured by Swift Athletics Club’s Logan Miller as he crossed the finish line in 48.83 seconds. Omar Kelly, who ran under SPIA, was third with a time of 49.26 seconds.

Lamont Moss was victorious in the under-20 boys 200m dash as he sprinted his way to victory. The DTSP Wolfpack Athlete posted 21.49 seconds. Redline Athletics’ Shimar Bain was second with a time of 22.05 seconds. Wanya McCoy from Fast Forward Athletics was third when he reached the finish line in 22.22 seconds.

Redline Athletics Larcathea Cooper won the under-20 girls 200m dash and finished second in the under-20 girls 400m race. She clocked 24.59 seconds in the 200m dash. Fast Forward’s Paige Archer was second after posting 25.30 seconds. Third place was won by Archers’ teammate, Shavantae Roberts, who was close behind with a time of 25.32 seconds. In the 400m dash, she was one of two runners to go under 58 seconds when she clocked 57.12 seconds. Winning that race was Fast Forward Athletics’ Javonya Valcourt, who posted 56.72 seconds. Cooper’s teammate, Samaa Moxey, was third with a time of 1:00.44.

The host club’s Sabrya Farquharson won the under-17 girls triple jump event when she leapt 10.82m (35’ 6”). Jumpers Inc.’s Chayanne Chipman was the only other competitor in that event; she posted 10.49m (34’ 5”).

Next up on the local track and field scene will be the 1st Annual Redline Athletics Track and Field meet, slated for March 20 at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium.

Show More

Simba French

Simba joined The Nassau Guardian in 2012 as a technical producer for Guardian Radio 96.9 FM. He joined the Editorial Department as a sports reporter in 2018. Simba has covered a wide range of sports stories, including the 2018 CARIFTA in Nassau, Bahamas. Education: College of the Bahamas, BA Media Journalism

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our local news by turning off your adblocker