Dr. Hall-Watson elected new Senate president

Former Senate Vice President Dr. Mildred Hall-Watson was today elected as president of the Senate in the wake of Katherine Forbes-Smith’s resignation.

Senator Carl Bethel nominated Dr. Watson.

She was elected unanimously.

“It’s a distinct pleasure for me to be here in this position,” Dr. Hall-Watson said after she took her seat as president.

Bethel nominated former Fox MP MP Juanianne Dorsett for vice president of the Senate.

Dorsett’s nomination also received the unanimous approval from the Senate.

Smith resigned as a senator and president of the Senate last week in order to focus on relief efforts on Grand Bahama following Hurricane Dorian, according to her resignation letter.

Attorney Lisa Bostwick-Dean was appointed to the Senate on Tuesday.

She took the oath of office in the Senate today.

Bostwick-Dean is the daughter of Dame Janet Bostwick, the first woman elected to the House of Assembly, and John Henry Bostwick, a former president of the Senate.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our local news by turning off your adblocker