Members of the Constituencies Commission named

Speaker of the House of Assembly Halson Moultrie yesterday announced the recently appointed members of the Constituencies Commission.

He made the announcement after reading a September 1 letter from the secretary to the governor general.

“I wish to advise that his excellency, the most honorable Cornelius A. Smith, offers no objection to prospective members of the commission,” the letter said.

Moultrie was appointed the chairman and Supreme Court Justice Deborah Fraser was appointed the deputy chair on the recommendation of Chief Justice Brian Moree.

Moultrie said Prime Minister Dr. Hubert Minnis recommended Bamboo Town MP Renward Wells and Marco City MP Michael Pintard, both of whom were approved and appointed.

Exumas and Ragged Island MP Chester Cooper was appointed on the recommendation of Opposition Leader Philip Brave Davis. 

“This now puts the Constituencies Commission in the position to begin its work,” Moultrie said.

The Constituencies Commission reviews constituency boundaries throughout The Bahamas. The constitution mandates that a revision is done at least once every five years and that the commission reports any recommend changes.

Article 70(1) of the constitution provides: “The commission shall, in accordance with the provisions of this article, at intervals of not more than five years, review the number and boundaries of the constituencies into which The Bahamas is divided and shall submit to the governor general a single report either stating that in the opinion of the commission, no change is required or recommending certain changes, and the governor general shall cause such report to be laid before the House of Assembly forthwith.”

Show More

Rachel Knowles

Rachel joined The Nassau Guardian in January 2019. Rachel covers national issues. Education: University of Virginia in Charlottesville, BA in Foreign Affairs and Spanish

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our local news by turning off your adblocker