PLP ratifies seven more

Party’s slate for next election almost complete

The Progressive Liberal Party (PLP) last night ratified an additional seven candidates, including former Minister of Tourism Obie Wilchcombe, for the next general election.

Wilchcombe was ratified for West Grand Bahama and Bimini, a seat he previously held.

The other candidates announced by the party last night are Patricia Deveaux, Bamboo Town; Curt G. Hollingsworth, Marco City; Leon Lundy, Mangrove Cay & South Andros; Ginger Moxey, Pineridge; James Rolle-Turner, East Grand Bahama and Kirk Russell, Central Grand Bahama.

“We revolutionized our candidate selection process and, in an open, transparent and transformative way, selected an eclectic, diverse and talented group of women and men who will be the future of our party and the future of your next government,” said Davis during an outdoor event at PLP headquarters on Farrington Road.

“We have been able to put together a mix of experience and youthful enthusiasm, a team of people who have no other motive but to serve our great party and play a role in the next government of our country.”

Davis added, “The last four years of FNM government has been one of smoke and mirrors — say one thing and do another. Say one thing and do nothing.”

The PLP leader pointed to the controversial 2018 signing of the Oban oil refinery and storage facility deal for Grand Bahama, the Minnis administration’s decision in 2018 to increase value-added tax from 7.5 percent to 12 percent, the response to Hurricane Dorian, the rental of facilities owned by former FNM Cabinet minister Brent Symonette for the General Post Office, the purchase of Grand Lucayan resort in Grand Bahama using taxpayer dollars, the purchase of Grand Bahama airport, “broken promises” to public servants, the ballooning debt and the growing deficit as examples of smoke and mirrors or government failures.

“And so, whenever (Prime Minister Dr. Hubert) Minnis makes up his mind to ring the bell, I say to him and his cronies too soon is not soon enough,” Davis added.

The PLP has ratified 38 candidates, including six women, so far. 

South Abaco is the only constituency for which the PLP has not yet named a candidate.

 Both major political parties and some of the smaller parties have been naming candidates in recent months, amid signs that an early election may be called, although the prime minister has repeatedly dismissed such speculation.

“When we talk about election, election is not due until May of 2022,” Minnis said in March.

“It’s a matter that still has to be discussed, even if we decided to bring it in April 2022, February 2022, they have to be ready.”

On Tuesday, when asked if he believes the prime minister will call an early election, Davis said, “That is always in the province of the prime minister and I still believe that they are going to go very soon.”

On Monday, the prime minister said his government lost three years to crises, but insisted that it is moving the country forward.

The FNM won 35 of the 39 seats in the House of Assembly on May 10, 2017.  Three MPs — Centreville MP Reece Chipman, Golden Isles MP Vaughn Miller and Nassau Village MP Halson Moultrie — have all resigned from the FNM this term.

Show More

Jasper Ward

Jasper Ward started at The Nassau Guardian in September 2018. Ward covers a wide range of national and social issues. Education: Goldsmiths, University of London, MA in Race, Media and Social Justice

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our local news by turning off your adblocker