Winners crowned at BLTA Spring Classic Tournament

It was an exciting and invigorating weekend of tennis as juniors from the under-12 (U12), under-14 (U14), under-16 (U16) and under-18 (U18) categories competed at a very high level at the Bahamas Lawn Tennis Association’s (BLTA) Spring Classic Tournament at the BLTA’s National Tennis Center.

BLTA President Perry Newton thanked executive members Tara Mactaggart and Everette Munroe (Tournament Director) for their work in ensuring the smooth operation of the tournament. Courtesy was also extended to Everette Munroe (Referee) and Mickey Williams for scheduling and oversight of the matches.

Some of the participants from the BLTA’s umpire course in November of 2020 also served as officials during the tournament.

President Newton stated: “It is great to see the graduates put their training into practice. This supports growth and sustainability in tennis officiating. We are elated to be able to host this debut BLTA tournament after a year of no competition due to the pandemic. Our juniors have been practicing and putting in the work and this was evident by the quality of play and talent displayed at this tournament. The number of entrants into this tournament was extremely healthy and the level of play was high.”

The BLTA thanks the tournament sponsor Limeade Bahamas. Congratulations are extended on behalf of the BLTA to the winners and runners-up in the various divisions.

In the Boys 12s, Patrick Mactaggart was the winner while Lukas Zoebelin was the runner-up. In the Girls 12s, Sarai Clarke was the winner while Marlee Martin was the runner-up. Jackson Mactaggart was the winner in the Boys 14s while Khai Rhees was the runner-up. In the Girls 14s, Breann Ferguson was the winner and Clarke was the runner-up. In the Boys 16s, Michael Major Jr. was winner while Jackson Mactaggart was the runner-up. Sierra Rodgers emerged as the winner in the Girls 16s and Maddisan Bowleg was the runner-up. Jacobi Bain won the Boys 18s category and Michael Major Jr. was the runner-up. Finally, in the Girls 18s, Sierra Rodgers was winner while Maddisan Bowleg finished as the runner-up.

The BLTA extends congratulations to all of the participants. The next junior tournament hosted by the BLTA will be its junior nationals set for June 21-24 at the national tennis center. All of the age groups for juniors will be contested.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our local news by turning off your adblocker